Alberta Science Network

Get Involved

Our Award Winners

Clément Laforce Award 2017, by ASN affiliate, Praxis Science Outreach Society

We are proud to announce that the winner of the first Clem Laforce award is Gary McFarlane! Gary has not only been an active volunteer in the science community for over 25 years, but he was also the founding member of Praxis. We are very pleased to bestow this award to Gary (left in the image below) and honour Clem's memory.

Gary MacFarlane left
Clément Laforce Award, by ASN affiliate, Praxis Science Outreach Society
Anita Rossall P.Eng.

Clément was for 20 years a tireless volunteer, Board member and booster for Praxis and the Alberta Science Literacy Association, ASN's predecessor, and for science and technology education, and advocacy for youth. He was an engineer who could read people, blue prints, organizational charts and budgets as well as anyone. He was a DRDC scientist for over 30 years and retired in 2012 as the Deputy Director General. He was a recipient of the Alberta Centennial Medal through his efforts and countless hours supporting science and technology literacy in youth. Many people in Medicine Hat can trace an important experience in science and technology, engineering or math, to something he organized, did or built.
Clément died in August 2015. The award will recognize persons in our community who exemplified his interests in education and advocacy for Science and Technology for young people.

Members of the community in SE Alberta served by Praxis, volunteers or educators (at any level; primary, secondary and post-secondary), who have distinguished themselves in demonstrating or promoting science and technology for youth are eligible for this award. Please find a nomination form at .